New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

SMA Wrap: Suryakumar halts Karnataka's winning run

by   •  Last updated on 2020-04-13 16:19:36

Karnataka vs Mumbai

Suryakumar Yadav struck an impressive unbeaten 94 as Karnataka's impressive winning run came to a halt. Chasing 172, Mumbai were given a quick start by Prithvi Shaw but Aditya Tare and Shreyas Iyer failed to contribute which put the onus on Suryakumar to guide the team home. The batsman struck four sixes and eleven fours and put on a show with Shivam Dube playing second fiddle at the other end. Suryakumar finished just six short of a century with one over to spare.

Earlier in the day, Karnataka staged a strong comeback with the bat after being reduced to 19/3 in 4.1 overs. While KL Rahul fell for a duck, Manish Pandey and Karun Nair registered single-digit scores. But Devdutt Padikkal hit a quickfire fifty and added 80 runs alongside Rohan Kadam to rescue Karnataka. Post Padikkal's dismissal, Kadam took centrestage and hit a 47-ball 71 as Karnataka finished with 171, a total that wasn't enough against a rampaging Suryakumar.

Brief scores: Karnataka 171/6 in 20 overs (Rohan Kadam 71, Devdutt Padikkal 57; Shardul Thakur 2-29) lost to Mumbai 174/3 in 19 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 94*, Prithvi Shaw 30; Shreyas Gopal 1-19) by 7 wickets.

Tamil Nadu vs Punjab

In a low-scoring encounter at the Lalabhai Contractor Stadium, Tamil Nadu edged past Punjab by four wickets to collect another win. Opting to bowl first, Tamil Nadu kept striking at regular intervals with Punjab losing six wickets for just 21 runs in nine overs. The top four batsmen including the likes of Shubman Gill and Mandeep Singh registered single digit scores. Had it not been for Mayank Markande's cameo right at the death, Punjab would have struggled to go past 80. Eventually, they finished with 94 in their allotted 20 overs hoping for a miracle with the ball to bail them out.

They were given hopes of a comeback with Tamil Nadu too struggling with the bat. At one stage they were reeling at 48/4 before Washington Sundar came to the rescue. Washington had already sent down four tidy overs conceding just six runs and now made a massive contribution with the bat batting at 3. With Punjab striking regularly at one end, Washington held forte and made an unbeaten 45 as Tamil Nadu won with just three balls to spare.

Brief scores: Punjab 94/8 in 20 overs (Mayank Markande 33*; M Siddharth 3-9, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore 3-10) lost to Tamil Nadu 98/6 in 19.3 overs (Washington Sundar 45*; Abhishek Sharma 2-10, Mayank Markande 2-18) by 4 wickets.

Baroda vs Haryana

Fifties from Chaitanya Bishnoi and Shivam Chauhan helped Haryana brush aside Baroda by six wickets. Chasing a modest 139, Haryana lost Harshal Patel early but saw Bishnoi and Chauhan add 80 for the second wicket to put them on track. Bishnoi fell for 56 but Chauhan kept going and remained unbeaten on 50 with Haryana chasing down the target with 15 balls remaining.

Earlier in the day, Baroda made a poor start with the bat losing their first four wickets for just 44 runs. With Krunal Pandya and Deepak Hooda departing early, Yusuf Pathan rescued Baroda with a crucial unbeaten 45 off just 34 balls. With Vishnu Solanki and Swapnil Singh also contributing, Baroda were able to post 138 on the board, which clearly wasn't enough on the day.

Brief scores: Baroda 138/5 in 20 overs (Yusuf Pathan 45*, Swapnil Singh 25*; Jayant Yadav 1-7) lost to Haryana 139/4 in 17.3 overs (Chaitanya Bishnoi 56, Shivam Chauhan 50; Yusuf Pathan 2-11) by 6 wickets.

Rajasthan vs Maharashtra

An outstanding spell from Rahul Chahar was instrumental in Rajasthan's comfortable six-wicket win over Maharashtra in the fixture under lights in Surat. Chahar removed both the openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Vijay Zol and then later on got the wicket of Nikhil Naik to finish with impeccable figures of 3 for 5 in his four overs as Rajasthan made only 99 for the loss of nine wickets in their 20 overs. Naik's 27-ball 23 was the highest score in an innings that saw the bowlers dominate right from the word go.

Ankit Lamba then helped Rajasthan get off to a flying start to literally quash any faint hopes that Maharashtra had. Even though Rajasthan lost three wickets at one stage in the space of 18 runs, a composed Mahipal Lomror ensured there were no hiccups in the run chase. Salman Faruk Khan at the other end chipped in with an unbeaten 17 off 11 deliveries as the formalities were completed with 22 balls to spare.

Brief scores: Maharashtra 99/9 in 20 overs (Nikhil Naik 23; Rahul Chahar 3-5, Chandrapal Singh 3-21) lost to Rajasthan 101/4 in 16.2 overs (Mahipal Lomror 35*, Ankit Lamba 33; Naushad Shaikh 1-8) by 6 wickets.