New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

Vidarbha, Karnataka pick up big wins in Super League

by   •  Last updated on 2020-04-13 16:19:57

Group A

Railways vs Bengal

Ashish Yadav's all-round effort went in vain as Bengal chased down the 143-run target quite comfortably to register a six-wicket win in their Super League Group A encounter against Railways.

Opting to bat, Railways posted 142 for 6 from their allotted overs, riding on the back of Ashish's 44-ball 51. Overcoming two early setbacks within the powerplay, Ashish combined with Prashant Gupta for a 46-run partnership in the next six overs to put things back on track for Railways. Prashant, who hit five boundaries and a six in his 31-ball 39, fell just short of a fifty while Ashish stayed right till the final ball en route his.

Ashish then dismissed Wriddhiman Saha off the final ball of the first over of Bengal's chase to set them back early. However, Shreevats Goswami and Abhimanyu Easwaram combined for a 95-run partnership to stitch the chase back together. Goswami was particularly aggressive during his 55-ball 80 that saw nine boundaries and two sixes. Easwaram missed out on a fifty by just four runs when Ashish came back into the attack to get Railways the much-needed breakthrough, but Goswami anchored the chase well. He was eventually dismissed in the 18th over when Bengal were within striking distance of the victory.

Brief scores: Railways142/6 in 20 overs (Ashish Yadav 51, Prashant Gupta 39; Sayan Ghosh 2-26) lost to Bengal143/4 in 18.1 overs (Shreevats Goswami 80, Abhimanyu Easwaram 46; Ashish Yadav 2-20) by six wickets.

Jharkhand vs Gujarat

Jharkhand began their Super League journey with a narrow one-run victory over Gujarat as they successfully defended 148 in a curtailed encounter.

In a match reduced to 18 overs per side, Jharkhand posted a healthy 148 from their allotted quota courtesy a blazing start by their openers. Anand Singh and Ishan Kishan took the team to 63 off the five overs of the powerplay and eventually put on 82 for the first wicket before the latter fell for a 19-ball 39 in the eighth over. Anand Singh took the team over the 100-run mark, but missed out on his half-century. Nonetheless, Kumar Deobrat's handy cameo of 22 not out took the team to a competitive 148.

Jharkhand then began their defence with two early wickets, that of both Gujarat openers. However, more than handy contributions from the middle order hardly let Gujarat feel the pinch. Reeling at 64 for 4 at the halfway stage, Gujarat came back strongly to reduce the equation down to 30 required off the final three overs. And Chirag Gandhi's unbeaten cameo kept Gujarat's hopes alive until the very last, only for the Priyank Panchal led side to fall agonisingly short by just one run.

Brief scores: Jharkhand148/7 in 18 overs (Anand Singh 45, Ishan Kishan 39, Kumar Deobrat 22*; Karan Patel 1-8) beat Gujarat 147/8 in 18 overs (Karan Patel 35, Axar Patel 28, Chirag Gandhi 23*; Utkarsh Singh 2-22, Vikash Singh 2-25, Anukul Roy 2-25) by one run.

Group B

Mumbai vs Karnataka

An all-round bowling effort helped Karnataka kick off the Super League phase with a thumping nine wicket win over Mumbai, in Indore.

Mumbai were set back immediately, after opting to bat, as Vinay Kumar got rid of Prithvi Shaw off just the second ball of the game. Mumbai never really recovered from that and kept losing wickets at regular intervals, eventually managing just 97 off their allotted overs. Nearly all batsmen got starts but none of them managed to convert them into a substantial knock. Akash Parkar's 22 was the best effort with the bat, while Vinay and Manoj S Bhandage picked up two wickets apiece.

Karnataka openers then got the chase off to a flying start, putting on a 79-run stand for the first wicket in 11.2 overs before being separated. Rohan Kadam, who eventually finished with an unbeaten 62, was the aggressor in the partnership, while Sharath BR chipped in with 25 runs. After losing his opening partner, Kadam combined with Mayank Agarwal to polish off the target on the second ball of the 14th over, with nine wickets in hand.

Brief scores: Mumbai97/9 in 20 overs (Akshar Prakar 22; Vinay Kumar 2-15, Manoj S Bhandage 2-11) lost to Karnataka98/1 in 13.2 overs (Rohan Kadam 62*, Sharath BR 25; Siddhesh Lad 1-12) by nine wickets.

Vidarbha vs Delhi

Led by Umesh Yadav, Vidarbha ran through Delhi's batting order to set up a comprehensive nine-wicket win in Indore. Opting to bowl, Vidarbha shot down Delhi for 83 inside 17 overs with as may as four bowlers picking two wickets apiece, before their openers nearly polished off the chase all by themselves.

Despite hiten Dalal at his aggressive best at one end, Delhi struggled to build partnerships. Barring Dalal, only Pawan Negi managed a score in double-digits, while the opener himself scored 42 of Delhi's total of 83 runs. Umesh Yadav, Shrikant Wagh, Yash Thakur and Akshay Karnewar shared eight amongst themselves.

Atharwa Taide and Jitesh Sharma then put on a 73-run opening stand to reduce Vidarbha's chase to a formality. While both of them attacked from the word go, Jitesh was particularly aggressive in his approach as he hit a 24-ball 41 before getting dismissed off the last ball of the seventh over. Nevertheless, Vidarbha were scoring at more than ten an over and took just 8.3 overs to polish off the target, with nine wickets intact.

Brief scores: Delhi83 all out in 16.2 overs (Hiten Dala 42; Umesh Yadav 2-10, Shrikant Wagh 2-12, Yash Thakur 2-13, Akshay Karnewar 2-14) lost to Vidarbha85/1 in 8.3 overs (Jitesh Sharma 41, Atharwa Taide 32*; Suboth Bhati 1-20) by nine wickets.