New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

Nain Abidi, Asmavia Iqbal left out for New Zealand series

by   •  Last updated on 2020-04-13 16:57:06

Pakistan Women have left out senior batter Nain Abidi and all-rounder Asmavia Iqbal from a 14-member squad announced for the upcoming limited-overs series against New Zealand in UAE. Bismah Mahroof returns from injury to lead the national side while outgoing skipper Sana Mir has retained her spot in the squad. Senior batter Javeria Khan has been appointed vice-captain.

Pacer Kainat Imtiaz, all-rounder Marina Iqbal, spinner Ghulam Fatima and uncapped pacer Waheeda Akhtar are the others from Pakistan's last ODI assignment - 2017 ICC Women's World Cup - to be left out for the three-match ODI series, starting October 31.

Aliya Riaz and Aiman Anwar make a comeback to the ODI fold after being left out of the World Cup squad, while Sidra Amin, who last played an international in 2016, has been recalled too. Uncapped bowler Natalia Pervaiz too has been included in the 14-woman squad.

Mahroof was ruled out of the remainder of World Cup in England after injuring her right hand while fielding in the league round clash against the hosts. The T20I skipper was last month officially appointed new captain across formats as PCB axed Mir after her leadership was severely criticised by the then coach, Sabih Azhar, in his report following a win-less campaign.

PCB has also picked four reserves - Anam Amin, Fareeha Mahmood, Ayesha Naz and Rameen Shamim - for their first international assignment since the World Cup ouster.

Pakistan host New Zealand for three ODIs in the first round of the 2017-2020 ICC Women's ODI Championship, to be followed by four-T20I series starting November 8. All games are scheduled to be held in Sharjah.

Squad: Ayesha Zafar, Bibi Nahida, Javeria Wadood (vice-captain), Bismah Maroof (captain), Sidra Amin, Iram Javed, Aliya Riaz, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper), Sana Mir, Diana Baig, Natalia Pervaiz, Aiman Anwar, Nashra Sandhu and Sadia Yousaf.

Reserves: Anam Amin, Fareeha Mahmood, Ayesha Naz and Rameen Shamim.