New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

Spinners star in UAE win over Namibia

by   •  Last updated on 2020-04-20 04:12:49

Eight of the ten wickets that Namibia lost were to spin as they were bowled out for a paltry 89 in the ICC World Cricket League Championship clash against UAE at the Wanderers Cricket Ground in Windhoek, on Thursday (September 21). UAE lost early wickets in pursuit of the target but eventually got over the line comfortably. A six-wicket loss means that Namibia were reduced to the bottom of the table.

Asked to bat first, Namibia lost Stephan Baard in the opening over while No. 3 bat Lohan Louwrens fell a short while later, both getting out to UAE seamer Mohammad Naveed. Louis van der Westhuizen and Craig George Williams led a brief recovery with a 46-run stand before the spinners took over and wreaked havoc.

At 68 for 2, Namibia appeared to have recuperated from the early setbacks, only to lose their next eight wickets for 21 runs. Offspinner Rohan Mustafa, the captain of UAE, triggered the slide when he dismissed van der Westhuizen for 41 by taking a catch off his own bowling in the 17th over. Williams followed in the very next over, getting out to legspinner Imran Haider, who finished with figures of 3 for 27. Left-arm orthodox spinner Ahmed Raza also got into the act, picking up 3 for 18 as Namibia's innings fell apart before the 30th over.

Sarel Burger and Petrus Burger gave Namibia some hope when they dismissed Mustafa and Ghulam Shabber respectively, leaving UAE at 21 for 2. Following a 29-run partnership between Shaiman Anwar and Chirag Suri, Bernard Scholtz dismissed the set batsmen as Namibia tried to stay afloat. But lack of scorecard pressure allowed UAE to saunter towards the target, with Adnan Mufti (21*) and Rameez Shahzad (20*) completing the formalities in the 26th over.

Brief scores:Namibia 89 in 28.3 overs (Louis van der Westhuizen 41, Craig George Williams 25; Ahmed Raza 3-18, Imran Haider 3-27) lost to UAE92/4 in 25.1 overs (Chirag Suri 26, Adnan Mufti 21*; Bernard Scholtz 2-24) by 6 wickets