New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

India squad for Australia tour 2020 has been announced!

by  Neel Ashar  •  Last updated on 2020-10-27 14:29:32


India's squad for their tour to Australia has been announced by the Indian Cricket Team Selection Committee headed by former Indian player Sunil Joshi on 26th October. They have picked a jumbo squad keeping in mind the pandemic. A jumbo squad is scheduled to travel to Sydney from Dubai in a chartered flight next month. The coaching staff and a few Test specialists such as Cheteshwar Pujara and Hanuma Vihari have arrived in Dubai and are undergoing a mandatory quarantine before they join the bio-bubble. 

What is intriguing to note is that Rohit Sharma has been omitted from the Test, ODI and T20I squads because he is suffering from a severe hamstring injury that has prevented him from taking part in a few IPL matches. He is expected to be match fit by the first week of November. Another notable omission is Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Both have sustained severe injuries and there is a dark cloud cast over their match fitness by the time the tour commences. Ishant should be available for selection after Diwali, that is 14th November. However, as per the BCCI protocols, you cannot select a player in any squad while he is injured. 

Rishabh Pant has been axed from the white-ball squads as he is overweight and needs to get back in shape, probably also find his mojo back to knock the selection doors soon. He has an opportunity to showcase his talent when he takes guard for the Delhi Capitals. He will be a part of the Test squad. He has been a revelation in the longest format, becoming the first Asian wicket-keeper batsman to score tons in both England as well as Australia. 

Test squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar, Ajinkya(vc), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vc & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Shikhar, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vc & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

Four additional pace bowlers will travel with the squad as net bowlers and covers for any potential injuries. These bowlers are- Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Thangarasu Natarajan, Ishan Porel and Kartik Tyagi

India Tour of Australia tentative schedule- 

ODI Series: 

To be played at the SCG in Sydney

1st ODI: November 26

2nd ODI: November 28 

3rd ODI: November 30 

T20I Series

To be played at the Manuka Oval

1st T20I: December 04 

2nd T20I: December 06 

3rd T20I: December 08

Pink Ball warm-up match 

Test Series: 

1st Test (D/N): December 17 to 21 at the Adelaide Oval

2nd Test: December 26 to 30 at the MCG

3rd Test: January 7 to 11 at the SCG

4th Test: January 15 to 19 at the Gabba