New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

Sri Lanka Announce Twenty-member Squad for West Indies White-ball Series

by  Shinda  •  Last updated on 2021-02-23 15:32:22

Sri Lanka Monday named a 20-member squad for six limited over matches against the West Indies delayed by Covid-19 infections.

The cricket board said fast bowler Lahiru Kumara, 24, who tested positive on Monday was being replaced by 33-year-old Suranga Lakmal for the three one-day internationals and the three T20 matches.

The Twenty20s will be played on March 3, 5 and 7 at the Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua while the ODIs will be at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium on March 10, 12 and 14.

Sri Lanka Cricket did not immediately name a squad for the two Tests also be at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium with the first game starting on March 21 and the second on March 29.

The tournament was delayed after coach Mickey Arthur and opening Test batsman Lahiru Thirimanne contracted coronavirus earlier this month. Both have since recovered and have joined the tour to the West Indies.

One man not going to the Caribbean, however, is former Test player Chaminda Vaas who quit as fast bowling coach on Monday within days of his appointment.

Vaas, who only replaced Australian David Saker on Friday, resigned over a pay dispute.

Sri Lanka Cricket said it was "disheartening" that Vaas had made the "sudden and irresponsible move on the eve of the team's departure based on personal monetary gain".

Vaas could not be immediately contacted, but he said on Twitter that his unspecified request to Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) had been turned down.

"I made a humble request to SLC and they turned it down," Vaas tweeted. "That's all I can say at the moment. Justice will prevail!"

Vaas is the most successful Sri Lankan fast bowler, taking 355 wickets in 111 Tests and 400 scalps in 322 one-day internationals.

He retired from Test cricket in 2009, a year after ending his ODI career.

The cricket board had said Vaas replaced Saker who had cited "personal reasons" to quit the job that he undertook in December 2019 but the 54-year-old has not yet commented publicly.

Sri Lanka limited over squad:

Dimuth Karunaratne (ODI captain), Dasun Shanaka (T20 captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandima, Angelo Mathews,Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka and Suranga Lakmal.