New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh 3rd ODI Preview

by  Neel Ashar  •  Last updated on 2021-05-27 14:27:41


Bangladesh pummeled Sri Lanka in the 2nd ODI played a few days back at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka. Thanks to Mushfiqur's scintillating ton and Mehidy Hasan Miraz's wily spin bowling spell, Sri Lanka had no chance to draw the series after losing yet another crucial toss. The visitors had little clue on how to get Mishfiqur out. Worse, they were utterly clueless against the now 2nd ranked ODI bowler, Mehidy Hasan Miraz. His variations and a slow deck were too hot to handle on that evening. Can Sri Lanka prevent a whitewash? They have just lost their first-ever ODI series to Bangladesh a few nights ago. 

The Match Preview

Venue: Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Date: 28th May 2021
Time: 12:30 P.M. IST onwards

The Pitch Report

The Mirpur pitch is bound to be on the slower side. The best time to bat is in the powerplay, which is the first 10 overs in the match for both teams. Balls shall keep lower and go slower as the middle and death overs approach. Expect both teams' spinners to have a heyday with a plethora of turn and bounce on offer. Fast bowlers need to make use of a few variations such as bouncers, slower bouncers, cutters, knuckleballs, etc to bag wickets on this pitch. 

Weather Forecast

The weather is expected to be scorching hot and humid in Mirpur. There is a 19 per cent chance for rain. Temperatures will soar as high as 43 Degrees and dip as low as 26 Degree Celsius. The relative humidity is predicted to be 71 per cent. Also, winds will blow from the North-West direction to the South-East at a maximum speed of 21 kilometres per hour. 

Predicted Match XIs

Bangladesh's Predicted Playing XI: Tamim Iqbal (c), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka's Predicted Playing XI: Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera (c), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshen Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera