New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

Eng vs Pak 3rd T20I | Latest Team News, Preview and Prediction.

by  Lakshya Baghel  •  Last updated on 2021-07-20 16:53:39


Prediction for match.

Whilst England have home advantage, the atmosphere at Emirates Old Trafford is likely to be at fever pitch for the deciding match of this T20i series, with a large contingent of Pakistan support expected in the crowd. Both teams have strong bowling attacks for this format of the game, although England’s spinners are superior to those of Pakistan. The openers for each side can be explosive in the powerplay. However, the key difference between the teams has been the middle order hitting. With the likes of Bairstow and Livingstone, England’s depth of batting within their line-up is far stronger than that of Pakistan.England is a far stronger team than Pakistan even though it is not playing its strongest team just yet. The power and depth in the English batting lineup allow it to attack without pausing and that is difficult to defend against. Pakistan is far too dependent on Babar Azam to be competitive and even though he is world-class, he cannot score runs in every single match.

Avg First inning score: 168 runs (10 T20Is have been played at the venue).

Records of chasing teams.

Won - 5

Lost - 2 

N/R - 3

Tied - 0

Final Prediction: England to win the match.

1). If England won the toss and opted to bat first, they could score 195-205 runs.

2). If Pakistan won the toss and opted to bat first, they could score 190-200 runs.


Secondary Predictions.

1). Babar Azam to be the best run scorer for Pakistan.

It is not by chance that Babar Azam is considered one of the best batsmen in the world today. His consistency in the T20 format is just incredible and he has already scored over 20 T20 international fifties. He is definitely due a big score and we don't mind backing him in this match at all.

2). Liam Livinstone to be the best run scorer for England.

Liam Livingstone has been an outstanding batter for the Brits in the series thus far. In two matches, the right-hander has notched runs at an average and strike rate of 70.50 and 213.63 respectively. After scoring a century in the first game, he scored 38 runs in the second. If he gets going.


Match Preview.

Pakistan was demolished by England in the second T20 and now the series stands at 1-1. The decider will be played in Manchester and we think both teams are going to be happy about being able to play such high-pressure games before the T20 World Cup.

Pakistan did not make a single change to its team for the second T20 international and we don’t think it is going to tinker sound with the lineup just yet. England, on the other hand, made several changes including dropping the captain for the second match!

England has a clear objective of trying different players around and so we could be in for some unexpected changes once more. We always believe that more the changes, more the betting opportunities on offer!

Liam Livingstone is the top run-scorer for England with 141 runs at a strike rate of 213. He has struck 8 fours and 12 sixes. Jos Buttler has also made 59 runs at a strike rate of 151.

Saqib Mahmood has been the best bowler for England and has picked up 4 wickets while bowling at an average of 19 and an economy rate of 9.87.

Babar Azam is the top run-scorer for Pakistan with 107 runs at a strike rate of 164. He has struck 11 fours and 3 sixes. Mohammad Rizwan has also made 100 runs at a strike rate of 142.

Shaheen Shah Afridi has been the best bowler for Pakistan and has picked up 4 wickets while bowling at an average of 14 and an economy rate of 8.09.

Mohammad Hasnain has done a good job in the first two T20Is. If Hasan Ali has recovered - and he would love to be a part of the decider - the expensive Haris Rauf can be dropped.

Match details.

Time - July 20th, 11:00 pm, IST.

Venue - Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester.


Weather and Pitch reports.

The weather forecast for this match is excellent and there is no rain expected in Manchester on match day. The pitch at Old Trafford is always very high-scoring. We expect a batting beauty where plenty of sixes and boundaries are going to be hit as batsmen target the short boundaries.

Team News.


England bounced back from defeat at Trent Bridge to level this three-match T20i series at Emerald Headingley, beating Pakistan by 45 runs after accruing a score of 200 all out batting first.

Wicketkeeper batter Jos Buttler starred with the willow on his return to the side, smashing 59 from 39 balls opening the innings, whilst Liam Livingstone once again demonstrated his brute force in the middle order with some lusty blows.

Spin-bowlers Adil Rashid and Matt Parkinson worked well in the same team on a spinning Headingley wicket, however it may be less likely to spin at Old Trafford which could lead to one of the two sitting out and on the batting front, captain Eoin Morgan may return to the team after not playing in the second T20i.

Possible XI: Jason Roy, Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan (C), Liam Livingstone, Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Lewis Gregory, David Willey, Tom Curran, Saqib Mahmood, Adil Rashid/Matt Parkinson

Bench: Tom Banton, Matt Parkinson/Adil Rashid, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler, Chris Jordan


After a fine start to their run chase, Pakistan came unstuck in the middle overs trying to maintain the high run-rate required and losing regular wickets, which ultimately saw them restricted to just 155/9 from their 20 overs.

Whilst both captain Babar Azam and wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan got starts at the top of the order, unlike in the first T20i neither of the two could convert them into big scores, which went a long way towards their chase being unsuccessful with the rest of the tourists’ batting order not nearly as strong.

Despite the defeat, Pakistan won’t be expected to change their side after fielding the same team in the last two matches of the series, with Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Hasnain spearheading their pace bowling attack.

Possible XI: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Babar Azam (C), Azam Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Maqsood, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain

Bench: Arshad Iqbal, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Usman Qadir, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Sharjeel Khan, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Nawaz