New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

West Indies vs India, 1st ODI: Match Prediction, Pitch Report, Probable XIs

by  Shashi Shukla  •  Last updated on 2022-07-22 02:40:20


India and West Indies will square off against each other on July 22 (Friday) at Queen Park Oval Stadium in Trinidad. The upcoming ODI series consists of three matches. Both the teams are looking forward to a tough fight.

While India came out victorious in its last ODI series, West Indies couldn't. During the recent India’s tour of England, India bagged a 2-1 victory against the hosts. In the 3 ODI games, India crushed England by 10 wickets in the first one, lost by 100 runs in the second one, and outplayed the hosts by 5 wickets in the final one.

The scores, however, weren't in favour of West Indies in their last ODI series - that was played against Bangladesh. The team faced a humiliating 0-3 defeat, as it lost the first ODI game by 6 wickets, second by 9, and third by 4 wickets.

Match Prediction

The Indian team will be led by Shikhar Dhawan in the upcoming ODI series. India will be short of players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Rishabh Pant. Hosting team West Indies will be led by Nicholas Pooran.

With its recent marvellous win against England, India is brimming with confidence. The team is expected to have an early lead in the series.

However, with both the teams being evenly matched, a cracking game is definitely in the picture.


West Indies vs India, 1st ODI: Match Preview

Match: West Indies vs India, 1st ODI, India Tour of West Indies 2022

Date and Time: July 22 (Friday), 7:00 PM IST

Venue: Queen Park Oval Stadium, Trinidad

Weather Forecast

There are no chances of precipitation. The temperature is expected to hover around 28°C with 77% humidity and 13 km/hr wind speed.

Probable XIs


Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidhh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh

West Indies

Kyle Mayers, Shai Hope, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran (C), Rovman Powell, Shamrah Brooks, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Gundakesh Motie




Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

West Indies

Nicholas Pooran (C), Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Rovman Powell, Keacy Carty, Kyle Mayers, Jason Holder, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Jayden Seales.