New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

T20I Series 2022 - New Zealand vs India, 1st T20I: Match Prediction, Pitch Report, Probable XIs

by  Shashi Shukla  •  Last updated on 2022-11-18 03:59:05


New Zealand is going to take on India in the 1st game of a three-match T20I series on 18 November at Wellington Regional Stadium, New Zealand.

Head-to-head statistics in T20I:

Total number of matches played: 20

Matches won by New Zealand: 9

Matches won by India: 11

Match Prediction

Despite showing some of the best performances in the Super 12 stages, both the teams had to drop out of the semi-finals in the T20 World Cup. While veteran batter Martin Guptill and seam bowler Trent Boult won't be joining the New Zealand squad, the Indian team won't be having regular skipper Rohit Sharma.

The visiting team is expected to win this match. Nevertheless, with numerous outstanding players for the upcoming match, both the teams are definitely looking forward to an exciting game.

New Zealand vs India, 1st T20I Preview

Match: New Zealand vs India, 1st T20I, T20I Series 2022

Date and Time: Friday, 18 Nov 2022, 12:00 PM IST

Venue: Wellington Regional Stadium, New Zealand


Pitch Report

The pitch at Wellington Regional Stadium is a batting-friendly one. Teams winning the toss will possibly opt to bat first. While pacers are expected to get some advantage towards the later half of the match, spinners might get lucky in the middle overs. Nevertheless, we are expecting a high-scoring match this time.

Weather Forecast

The temperature during the match hours is expected to hover around 21 degree Celsius, with 20% chance of precipitation. The humidity and wind speed will possibly stay around 72% and 13 km/hr respectively.

Probable XIs

New Zealand

Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, JImmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson


Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal



New Zealand

Finn Allen, Devon Conway(w), Kane Williamson(c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner, Michael Bracewell, Ish Sodhi


Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Deepak Hooda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel