New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

SS Das, Maninder Singh, apply for selector post for Team India

by  Shashi Shukla  •  Last updated on 2022-11-30 21:15:19


Previous left-arm spinner Maninder Singh, opening player Shiv Das & wicketkeeper Nayan Mongia were the conspicuous names among a few competitors who have applied for the India senior selectors' posts. The cutoff time for the applications shut on Monday (28th November 2022) and it is perceived that in excess of 50 people have gone after the position however there aren't such a large number of heavyweights in the fight.

Mongia (played 44 Tests), Maninder (played 35 Tests) & Das (played 21 Tests) are the most knowledgeable about the 50 or more applicants list.

Back in the year 2021, Maninder had gone after the position yet was pipped by Chetan Sharma. At that point, Sharma was liked by the CAC (Cricket Advisory Committee) headed by Madan Lal.


It couldn't be affirmed regardless of whether previous pacer Ajit Agarkar has applied. As indicated by quite a few people, Agarkar has a definite shot possibility of becoming determination board director with his global qualifications, in the event that he chooses to apply.

Salil Ankola, current administrator of senior Mumbai group, previous attendant Samir Dighe and the ostentatious Vinod Kambli are said to have applied for the post from Mumbai.

"Indeed, I have applied," Maninder affirmed to the media.

Sources in the loop affirmed that Das, who is at present senior Punjab group's batting mentor, has applied and with East Zone scarcely delivering Test players of notoriety, he has an excellent opportunity to turn into a selector.

In any case, it isn't verified assuming Das' home state- Odisha will support his candidature.

Previously, Agarkar, regardless of being the number one, didn't land the position as the previous MCA system hadn't upheld him as the authorities needed Abey Kuruvilla.

Different names from the North zone are less popular cricketers.

From the North zone, aside from Maninder, Nikhil Chopra (From Delhi), Atul Wassan, Ajay Ratra (from Haryana) & Reetinder Sodhi (from Punjab) are previous India players who have given it a shot.

From East zone, save Das, different names are truly lightweight. They incorporate Prabhanjan Mullick, Subhamoy Das, Rashmi Ranjan Parida (Odisha), Saradindu Mukherjee & Sourasish Lahiri from Bengal.


Profound Dasgupta & Laxmi Shukla (currently Team Bengal mentor) - two previous Indian players, have ruled against applying.

From different zones, Amay Khurasiya (Madhya Pradesh) and Gyanendra Pandey (Uttar Pradesh) are accepted to have applied.

While there are no composed principles, BCCI typically has faith in show of equivalent circulation and consequently five junior and five senior selectors lately have been from 10 unique states.

Along these lines, the junior choice board has one from Bengal (Ranadeb Bose), Tamil Nadu (S Sharath), Punjab (Krishan Mohan), MP (Harvinder Sodhi), & Gujarat (Pathik Patel).

Consequently, it is normal that competitors from these five states are probably going to be prohibited.

From Tamil Nadu, conspicuous names like L Sivaramakrishnan & WV Raman did not apply.

Be that as it may, previous Hyderabad off-spinner Kanwaljeet Singh has gone after the position as a South zone competitor.