New posts sign in menu 

Cricket News

India vs. Australia, 1st Test, Day 1- Match Prediction

by  Shashi Shukla  •  Last updated on 2023-02-09 10:55:29


On February 9 in Nagpur, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy is scheduled to begin. This tour will include four Test matches, with Delhi, Dharamsala, and Ahmedabad serving as the other three locations. With both sides vying for the coveted title, this highly anticipated series is sure to be an interesting affair.

In this series, Pat Cummins will serve as the Australian team's captain while Rohit Sharma will serve as the Indian team's captain. Key members of the Indian team include Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Mohammad Shami, while the Australian lineup includes Steven Smith, Usman Khawaja, and David Warner.

Injury concerns bothers Australia, Mitchell Starc sustained a finger injury in the Boxing Day Test against South Africa and has already been ruled out of the opening game. Josh Hazlewood, on the other hand, sustained a left Achilles tendon injury. A finger injury on his right hand that he experienced against the Proteas will prevent Cameron Green from playing in the first Test as well. The Australian bowling assault will probably consist of four players. Considering how many left-handed pitchers they have, Peter Handscomb might make the cut.

India will probably field three spinners in the Nagpur Test, according to KL Rahul. The two spinners the hosts want to use are Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. Due to his outstanding performance on Indian soil, Axar Patel is most likely to replace Kuldeep Yadav as the third spinner.


India is currently in second place in the ICC Men's Test rankings, behind Australia. There have been 102 matches between these two teams in this style, with Australia winning 43 and India taking 30 of them. Fans all across the world have been anticipating this long-running rivalry between two of the strongest cricketing nations in the world.

Match Prediction:

Australia is currently in first place in the 2021–2023 World Test Championship points table, demonstrating just how dominant they have been. The Australians can't be counted out because they have players who have performed well in sub-continental circumstances, even if the conditions will favour India. whoever gets to bat first will win.

India vs. Australia, 1st Test, Day 1- Match Preview

Match: India vs. Australia, 1st Test, Day 1

Venue: Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground, Nagpur, India

Date: 9th February 2023

Time: 9:30 AM (IST)

Live Streaming: Star Sports Network and Hotstar

Weather Report

It won't likely rain throughout the game, and the temperature will be approximately 33 degrees Celsius. Although there will be clouds, they won't pose a threat to the play.


Pitch Report

The pitch has also created a lot of discussion. On Tuesday night, the stadium experienced a sudden spike when the ground crew flocked to the field for some particular fine-tuning done the traditional Indian style. Prior to applying the roller treatment and further watering outside the left-leg hander's stump, the entire surface was first moistened.

Toss condition

The best thing to do after winning the toss should be to bat first because the track is anticipated to get worse over time.

Team India

Playing 11:

KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill/Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj.

Team Australia

Playing 11:

David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb/Matt Renshaw, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Nathan Lyon


Team India

Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Srikar Bharat(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Kuldeep Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav

Team Australia

David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Alex Carey(w), Pat Cummins(c), Nathan Lyon, Scott Boland, Todd Murphy, Mitchell Swepson, Peter Handscomb, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Matt Renshaw, Cameron Green, Lance Morris